Databases A-Z

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

See also databases by subject

A

Ancestry: Library Edition

Ancestry is an invaluable resource for genealogists and family researchers looking for census records, immigration information, passenger lists, birth, marriage, death and military records. Also includes charts and tools, plus much more.

ArtistWorks

ArtistWorks for Libraries provides patrons with world-class instruction through self-paced video lessons from Grammy Award-winning music and artistic professionals. You'll find everything you need for musical and artistic instruction, from introduction to advanced performance.

AtoZdatabases

"The Premier Job Search, Reference, and Mailing List Database. The database includes 2.3 million job listings, 30 million business profiles, 1.1 million healthcare professionals, and much more. Ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, finding friends and relatives, and much more! "

B

Business Insights: Essentials

Detailed company and industry news and information. Locate company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and relevant magazine articles.

**Please use your library card number as the password when asked.**

C

Career Transitions

Write a resume and a cover letter, practice interviewing with an interactive simulation, and look for jobs using this comprehensive resource. You also have the option to create an account to save your progress.

**Please use your library card number as the password when asked.**

 
D

Driving Tests

Free online test prep for the Florida driving test. No library card number or personal information required. This site will also help drivers wishing to brush up on Florida traffic law or interested in getting a motorcycle license.

Small image of the state of Florida

F

Florida Electronic Library

Use this site to search across all the databases, magazines, newspapers, and reference books free to anyone within the state of Florida thanks to the State Library. Use Power Search to make advanced searching easier; click One Search to choose specific databases to search.

Florida Newspaper Database

Search for full text articles from over 50 state and local newspapers, including Florida Trend (1985-present), Miami Herald (2000-present), Orlando Sentinel (2000-present), Tampa Bay Business Journal (1984-present), and the St. Petersburg/Tampa Bay Times (1998-present).

**Please use your library card number as the password when asked.**

App Small image of the state of Florida

Fold3

Fold3 provides convenient access to military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served. Over 537 million original documents with millions added every month. The internet's best Revolutionary War, Civil War, WWII and Vietnam War collections.

Freegal Music

Explore over 11 million songs, including Sony Music’s catalog of legendary artists. Music from more than 30,000 labels and 80 countries available for you to download and stream for FREE! Patrons are limited to 5 downloads per week.

G

Gale Academic OneFile

Find peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Coverage includes physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, as well as full-text coverage of the NY Times (1995-present).

**Please use your library card number as the password when asked.**

Gale Business: DemographicsNow

Create population and income maps, demographic reports, sales lead lists, market information, and access census data using Demographics Now.

**Please use your library card number as the password when asked.**

Small image of the state of Florida

Gale Business: Entrepreneurship

Search Gale Business: Entrepreneurship to learn how to plan, fund, start or manage your small business. Resources include; sample business plans, how to guides, articles, and websites.

**Please use your library card number as the password when asked.**

App Small image of the state of Florida

Gale General OneFile

Read news articles, general interest, business, and technology magazines, peer-reviewed academic journals, business magazines, and specialty titles in law, health care and computers. You can search through over 8,000 full-text resources.

**Please use your library card number as the password when asked.**

App Small image of the state of Florida

Gale Health and Wellness

Access full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, multimedia, and much more. This comprehensive consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices for researchers of all levels. 

**Please use your library card number as the password when asked.**

Gale in Context: Middle School

Gale In Context: Middle School provides engaging reference, periodical, and multimedia content supporting national and state curriculum standards for grades 6 to 12 in language arts, social studies, and science. Find authoritative content and a user-focused tool set needed to support middle school assignments and coursework.

**Please use your library card number as the password when asked.**

Gale in Context: Middle School  

Gale Legal Forms

Gale Florida Legal Forms offers thousands of customizable online legal forms specific to Florida. The forms cover the legal categories of bankruptcy, bill of sale, contracts, divorce, employment, incorporation, LLC, landlord tenant, living wills, name change, power of attorney, real estate, taxes, last wills and testaments, and more.

Locate the needed form by using the links on the Florida Legal Forms home page. Download the specific form in your desired format: Word, Adobe PDF, or Text. Edit the form by entering all relevant information and then print, save, or e-mail it.

Warning: Public users should consult an attorney in Florida for serious legal matters.

**Please use your library card number as the password when asked.**

Gale OneFile: Culinary Arts

The Culinary Arts Collection includes 150 of the major cooking and nutrition magazines from 1980 to present. Coverage includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.

**Please use your library card number as the password when asked.**

App Small image of the state of Florida

Gale OneFile: High School Edition

Gale OneFile: High School Edition provides access to age-appropriate, authoritative digital content for middle- and high-school students to use for classroom assignments. Learners can research magazines, journals, newspapers, and reference books covering a range of subjects—from science, history, and literature to political science, sports, and environmental studies.

**Please use your library card number as the password when asked.**

App Small image of the state of Florida

Gale OneFile: Informe Académico

Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias.

**Utilice el número de su tarjeta de biblioteca como contraseña cuando se le pregunte.**

App Small image of the state of Florida

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

**Please use your library card number as the password when asked.**

H

Hoopla

hoopla digital provides online and mobile access to thousands of movies, TV shows, music, audiobooks, ebooks and comic books. With hoopla digital, patrons can borrow, instantly stream and download free content with a valid library card.

App City of Clearwater clickable logo
 

I

Internet Archive: Clearwater Library Collections

Explore Clearwater and Pinellas County history on Internet Archive. Highlights include the Aqua Clara Yearbook from Clearwater High School and Clearwater City Directories. No library card required.

Internet Archive

N

New York Times

Enjoy complimentary access to the New York Times online with your Clearwater Library card: 1) Click the link above or to the right, 2) Click "Redeem ", 3) Create an account or login with an existing account, 4) Enjoy 24 hours of access.

NOTE: You'll have to return to the Library's Databases page after the 24 hours expire to generate a new access code. It's recommended you bookmark this page.

New York Times

NoveList Plus

NoveList Plus is an online reader's resource that helps you uncover your next great read. NoveList Plus has reading recommendations for both fiction and nonfiction, for all ages. NoveList's expertise in books and reading means that you'll always get the best help for finding just the right books.

NoveList K-8 Plus

NoveList K-8 Plus is especially for younger readers. It has reading recommendations for both fiction and nonfiction, for kids in grades K-8. Use it to find just the right books for every reader.

O

OverDrive: eBooks, Audiobooks, and Videos

Overdrive is one of three eResource collections maintained by the Pinellas Public Library Cooperative (PPLC).

P

Pinellas County Public Records Database

Contains adult criminal records, civil claims records, marriage license records, mortgage foreclosures, parking tickets, probate records, real estate tax records, traffic citations, and other county records. No library card required.

Pinellas Memory

Explore Pinellas County history in our collaborative archive, which includes local newspapers, historical photographs, and other documents. No library card required.

Pronunciator

Pronunciator is an online language-learning system. Learn more than 80 languages such as Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian, Russian and more.

R

RBdigital: Digital Magazines and Audiobooks

Subscribe to free, full color magazines and audiobooks using your library card.

S

St. Petersburg Times/Tampa Bay Times, 1901-2009

Search through more than 100 years of St. Petersburg Times/Tampa Bay Times newspapers. Full-text searching for all available issues. You can download PDF versions of issues for later research.

City of Clearwater logo

T

Tampa Bay Times Collection

Search through current and past Tampa Bay Times articles, blogs, and web-exclusives. Coverage for the print edition runs from 1987-present and includes both full-text search and images for the current year's issues. Web content is covered from 2002-present and blogs are covered from 2005-present. Content can be downloaded for later reading.

App City of Clearwater logo

U

Universal Class

Universal Class offers lifelong learning courses in over 30 subject areas, many of which offer continuing education units (CEUs). More than 500 courses are available, and all are designed and led by professional instructors to build deeper understanding and mastery of subject matter.

V

Value Line

Investment research for 6,000 stocks, 18,000 mutual funds, and 200,000 options and other securities. Value Line is best known for their Investment Survey, one of the most widely read investment services in the world.

Symbol Key

Clearwater Card Only


Any PPLC Cardholder


Any Florida Cardholder


Inside Library